2 Comments

In The Memory Of A Beloved Brother In Islam (And A Reminder For All Of Us)

Life is unpredictable and death is inevitable. We cry, we laugh, we make mistakes, we grow, we live, we work, we break, we survive and one day *PUFF* we are gone! Leaving behind all the things and people we’ve ever loved, the people whom we’ve promised to live and die for/with. We attend funerals, we bury our beloved but yet we forget! Yet we forget one day it’ll be us. The soil we walk on so proudly would one day be over us. Death is haqq. No one denies that, right? But yet we are so neglectful of these reminders. WHY? Do we think it’s just them? or do we think we would never die? Do we think people can’t bury us and walk away? Or have this dunya deluded us to such an extent that we neglect the fact that there’s a possibility that our shroud might  already have reached the market? Allaah swt say says in Surah Anaam Verse 62:

And the worldly life is not but amusement and diversion; but the home of the Hereafter is best for those who fear Allah , so will you not reason?

People die everyday. People we love, people we share our happiness and sorrow with. And one day they’re just gone, leaving behind just the memories. Today had been a shocking day. The  news of the sudden death of my brother’s friend and my beloved brother in Islam had forced me to give it a thought. It had been a tremendous reminder for me… for all of us. A reminder about how short the life of this world is and how worthless this dunya is, a reminder that the age doesn’t matter. For the angel of death we’re JUST another icon, JUST ANOTHER name on the list. And a reminder that one day we’ll be leaving behind EVERYTHING we’ve ever cared for. Today it’s him but tomorrow it would be us. One day people would be planning our funeral and they would be mentioning us in exactly the way we’re mentioning this brother. It’s him today,we can be next!

IN a few years, this year, this month, this week, in a few hours or maybe this very moment - just don't forget you're next!

In a few years, this year, this month, this week, in a few hours or maybe this very moment – just don’t forget you’re next!

Sometimes I just wonder what death would be like. NO! I am NOT suicidal, don’t get all panicky now. I just wonder… how would I die. How much more breaths do I have in me, how long would my life be or if it would end easy, will I suffer with a disease or will I just hit a tree. What would be my  last thoughts and what would I feel. Now the biggest question. Will I be satisfied? We’ve no idea how much time are we left with on earth. It can be years, or months, a few weeks, a couple of days, a few hours or maybe… maybe a few moments. But the point is ARE WE PREPARED? Are we prepared for the unknown and that which is inevitable *A BIG QUESTION MARK*

Now, THAT is a big question mark!

Now, THAT is a big question mark!

I don’t know how would I die or when. But one thing I know for is I WILL die. And then I wonder… Shouldn’t I be preparing? Should not we all be?

Life is not guaranteed but death certainly is, yet we still prepare for life more than death. - Mufti Ismail Menk

Life is not guaranteed but death certainly is, yet we still prepare for life more than death. – Mufti Ismail Menk

 Ps, Please remember this brother in your Duas. May Allaah swt give him place in Jannat ul Firdous , may Allaah (swt) give Sabr to his beloved parents, wife and rest of the family and may his yet unborn child be among the leaders of Mutakoon. insha’Allaah. Ameen

2 comments on “In The Memory Of A Beloved Brother In Islam (And A Reminder For All Of Us)

  1. Ameen to the dua in the end. Jazakillah Khair for this much needed reminder. May Allah bless the brother with the highest ranks in Jannah. Was deeply moved when I heard. Indeed, we hardly ever ask ourselves whether we are ready for when our time comes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

